MINUTES OF THE 56th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

OF

THE NEW ZEALAND INSTITUTE OF FOOD SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY INC.

Wednesday 7th July 2021

Palmerston North Convention Center, 12.45 – 1.30pm and Distinction Hotel, Palmerston North, from 6.30pm

AGENDA

1. **Present** (Quorum = 25 members with full voting rights)

APPENDIX I: Total attendees = 83

- Fellows29Professional29Standard17Student6Guest2
- 2. Apologies APPENDIX II: Total = 34

Motion #1: Moved that the apologies be accepted Moved: Richard Archer / Seconded: Phil Bremer – CARRIED

3. Voting rights of members

All current financial Graduate Members, Standard Members, Professional Members, Fellows and Honorary shall have full voting rights and one vote each.

4. Declaration of Conflict of Interest – None declared

"Members of NZIFST shall not enter into any discussion, activity or conduct that may infringe upon any applicable competition law and must declare any conflict of interest in the results of discussions."

5. Additional Items for Agenda (to be discussed in item 11(c)) – None requested

6. Confirmation of Minutes of the 2020 NZIFST Annual General Meeting

MOTION: Moved that the minutes of AGM 2020 be accepted as a true and accurate record Moved: Richard Archer /Seconded: Anne Scott – CARRIED

7. President's Report and NZIFST Annual Review to 31 March 2021 – NOTED

8. Financial Matters

(a) Financial Report 01 April 2020 - 31 March 2021 (refer Annual Review)

Motion #2: Moved that the financial report for 01 April 2020 – 31 March 2021 be accepted subject to audit

Moved: Grant Boston / Seconded: Richard Archer – CARRIED

(b) Budget, current year 2021/2022 (APPENDIX I) – NOTED

<u>Motion #3</u>: Moved that the indicative budget for the 2022/2023 year be accepted Moved: Grant Boston / Seconded: Richard Archer – CARRIED

(d) Member Subscription Fees 2022

<u>Motion #4:</u> Moved that the annual subscription fee for a Full membership for the 2022 year be increased by IRD's cost of living index. This increase to be applied pro-rata over all subscription levels, except Student Membership.

Moved: Grant Boston / Seconded: Richard Archer – CARRIED

<u>Motion #5:</u> Moved that the annual subscription fee for a Full membership for the 2022 year be increased by 2%. This increase to be applied pro-rata over all subscription levels, except Student Membership.

Moved: Grant Boston / Seconded: Richard Archer – CARRIED

(e) Appointment of Auditor

<u>Motion #6</u>: Moved that AGM authorises the Board to appoint the Auditor for 2021/2022 Moved: Grant Boston / Seconded: Richard Archer – CARRIED

Noted that a new auditor is due for 2021/2022.

9. CONSTITUTION AMENDMENT

Proposed

4.3.2 Fellow

A Member may be nominated as a Fellow who has:

Made a sustained and substantial contribution to the profession of food science and technology, through outstanding performance in BOTH the following areas:

a) Application and practice

- i) Research, OR
- ii) Technology, OR
- iii) Industry leadership, OR
- iv) Technology transfer and education

AND

b) Service and support

- i) Development of the food industry including promotion of its ethical standards and public image, OR
- ii) Development of the affairs of the Institute, its Branches or

<u>Motion #7</u>: Moved that Constitutional amendment above be accepted Moved: Richard Archer / Seconded: Phil Bremer – CARRIED

10. Election of Officers

Vice-President

Esraa El Shall Bob Olayo 50.97% ELECTED 49.03%

Voter Response

37% of eligible members

Elected Officer	Hamish Conway Don Otter Colin Pitt James Natzka	ELECTED ELECTED ELECTED
Voter response	2014 2015 2019 2021	24.8% of eligible members 24.5% 29.9% 34.0%

11. Other Business

(a) IUFoST 2020 Congress.

(i) Financial Report – Noted that the loss due the Congress cancellation has been held to less than \$5,000.

(ii) Singapore's generosity in relation to their 2022 IUFoST Congress is noted and appreciated.

Richard Archer gave a vote of thanks to the Congress Committee for their hard work in achieving such a 'good' result.

(b) Dairy Industry Superannuation Scheme Trustee Ltd (DISSTL) – Appointed Director Renewal

<u>Motion #8</u>: Moved that AGM accept the Executive Committee's recommendation to nominate Andy Williams for reappointment as a Director of DISSTL for a further 3-year term. Moved: Richard Archer / Seconded: Phil Bremer – CARRIED

(c) Any other business as identified in item 5 – NONE

12. Adjournment:

Notice of **Motion #9**: The President moved that:

The Annual General Meeting of the New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology (Inc) be adjourned until this evening, 6.30 pm @ the Distinction Hotel, Palmerston North, for the purpose of awarding NZIFST Fellowships and presentation of Institute and Food Industry Awards.

AGENDA PART 2:

6.30pm Announcement and Presentation of Institute Fellowships and Food Industry Awards

J C Andrews Award	Margot Buick
s e / illai e li s / illai a	inter Bot Baron

Distinguished Service Award Allan Main

Young Technologist Award Lucy Yang

NZIFST Fellowships Richard Gray Miranda Mirosa

MPI Award for Significant Contribution to Food Safety Denver McGregor (NZ King Salmon)

CLOSE OF OFFICIAL BUSINESS of The New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology Inc.

First name	last name	Member type	First name	last name	Member type
Roy	Biggs	Fellow	Alejandro	Acevedo-Fani	Professional
Phil	Bremer	Fellow	Grant	Boston	Professional
Margot	Buick	Fellow	Hamish	Conway	Professional
Don	Cleland	Fellow	Esraa	El Shall	Professional
Jonathan	Сох	Fellow	Jasmine	Estrera	Professional
Carol	Cullen	Fellow	Graham	Eyres	Professional
Paulette	Elliott	Fellow	Farnaz	Faridnia	Professional
David	Everett	Fellow	Richard	Gray	Professional
Graham	Fletcher	Fellow	Linda	Hafner	Professional
Debbie	Hawkes	Fellow	Neala	Hart	Professional
Craig	Honore	Fellow	Joanne	Hort	Professional
Lee	Huffman	Fellow	Craig	Houston	Professional
David	Illingworth	Fellow	Rex	Johnstone	Professional
David	Lowry	Fellow	Biniam	Kebede	Professional
Grant	MacDonald	Fellow	Sarah	Leakey	Professional
Allan	Main	Fellow	Miranda	Mirosa	Professional
Kevin	Marshall	Fellow	Zoe	Newell	Professional
Laurence	Melton	Fellow	Amanda	Nottage	Professional
Don	Otter	Fellow	Michelle	Ocampo Neyra	Professional
Colin	Pitt	Fellow	Bob	Olayo	Professional
David	Platts	Fellow	Chathurika	Samarakoon	Professional
David	Pooch	Fellow	Patrick	Silcock	Professional
Siew Young	g Quek	Fellow	Aswathi	Soni	Professional
Dave	Rout	Fellow	Stella	Stacey	Professional
Anne	Scott	Fellow	Ben	Sutherland	Professional
Harjindar	Singh	Fellow	Abby	Thompson	Professional
John	van den Beuken	Fellow	Sabrina	Tian	Professional
Andy	Williams	Fellow	Nicola	Wilson	Professional
Marie	Wong	Fellow	A. Wilhelm	Zabern	Professional
Martia	Alico	Standard	Giovanna	Castillo	Student
Mathew	Bannister	Standard	Ophir	Karon	Student
Sam	Borgfeldt	Standard	Linda	Nezbedova	Student
Julie	Cakebread	Standard	Aylin	Sen	Student
Theresa	Calman	Standard	Hien	Truong	Student
Alcoli	Сао	Standard	lqra	Zulfiqar	Student
Wendy	Divall	Standard			
Janet	Donovan	Standard			
Richard	Edmonds	Standard			
Ashling	Ellis	Standard	Rory	Besaans	Guest
Julie	llagan	Standard	Volka	Kuntzsch	Guest
Carol	Inkster	Standard			
Stuart	Jones	Standard			
Rothman	Kam	Standard			
Jo	Kelly-Tuckey	Standard			
Thao	Le	Standard			
Graeme	McLeod	Standard			

APPENDIX I - NZIFST AGM 7th July 2021 - ATTENDEES

APENDIX II - NZIFST AGM: 7th July 2021 - APOLOGIES

Rob	Archibald	Peter	Hawkins
Clive	Bleaken	Jessica	Henderson
Joanna	Boese	Hugh	lvory
Corinna	Breig	Kevin	Kreutz
Tim	Chia	Gary	Le Quesne
Emily	Chin	RenSun	Lee
Andrew	Cleland	George	Miller
Hannah	Coppins	Georgia	Mischefski-Gray
Imogen	Dear	Sandra	Murray
Jenny	Dee	Kevin	Palfreyman
Lemuel	Diamante	Gordon	Roberston
Emily	Fanning	Hannah	Santos
Lynnette	Ferguson	Lesley	Steeples
Jess	Fitzgerald	Dongxiao	Sun-Waterhouse
Vivvek	Gargi	Janis	Swan
Finoa	Greig	Lucy	Todd
Winna	Harvey	Braden	Tuakoi