

## NZIFST EMERGING LEADER AWARD

#### **PURPOSE of AWARD**

This award is to recognise a young technologist/scientist/engineer for their endeavour or achievement, AND leadership potential, within the food industry.

All sectors of the food industry and all roles are eligible.

[NOTE: From 2022, this award combines and replaces the Young Technologist Award and the IFT Emerging Leaders Network (ELN) Programme award]

#### CRITERIA

The nominee will be:

- A current Standard or Professional member of NZIFST with at least 3 years' continuous membership.
- Aged 30 years or under.

#### **NATURE of the AWARD:**

- The award winner will receive \$NZ 2,000 (incl GST) towards their professional development and this must be commenced within 12 months of receiving the award (prize to be paid on submission of receipts following confirmed attendance at the event).
- The award winner will be announced and presented annually in a ceremony at the NZIFST's direction. This will usually be at the annual conference.
- The award winner should intend to be present at the ceremony in order to receive their award.
- Nominations will be considered only once; in the year they are submitted. They will not be held over to another year but may be resubmitted.
- In any one year, the NZIFST reserves the right to not select a recipient for this award.

#### NOMINATION PROCESS

TWO nominators are required; these may be an NZIFST member, or employer, supervisor, or a senior colleague of the nominee.

#### **Documentation Required:**

- (1) A career outline or CV for the nominee.
- (2) A supporting statement, confirming how the nominee meets the purpose for the award.
- (3) Nominator's signed declarations.

The awards committee reserves the right to interview nominees.

This completed nomination form and all documentation should be emailed in PDF format to:

NZIFST Executive Manager <u>wendy@nzifst.org.nz</u>

Enquiries: Phone 022 549 8483

CLOSING DATE: 30th April in the year of the award.



# **PREVIOUS WINNERS – IFT & Young Technologist Awards**

#### IFT LEAD 360

2013	Chicago	Abby Thompson	Riddet Institute
2014	New Orleans	Sina Hosseini-Parvar	Massey University
2015	Chicago }	Louise Tolenaars	Dairy Goat Cooperative
	}	Hayley Stewart	Massey University

IFT ELN			
2016	Chicago	Isabel Buerschgens	Sensient Technologies New Zealand
2017	Las Vegas	Nick Devcich	Tasti Products Ltd
2018	Chicago	Nurul Kusumaningrum	Goodman Fielder
2019	New Orleans	Camilla Riddiford	Fonterra Brands
2020	On-line	Yi-Chern Lee	NZMP – South & East Asia
2021	On-line	Sarah Leakey	Sensient Technologies New Zealand

### **NZIFST Young Technologist Award**

2016	Nurul Kusumaningrum	Goodman Fielder
2017	Esraa El Shall	Fonterra Brands (Tip Top) Ltd
2018	Yi-Chern Lee	Fonterra
2019	Marianna McEwan	Frucor Suntory
2020	Neala Hart	Frucor Suntory
2021	Lucy Yang	

#### **NZIFST Emerging Leader Award**

2022	Sarah Leakey
2023	Not awarded
2024	Tamara Sears



# NZIFST EMERGING LEADER AWARD NOMINATION FORM

We wish to nominate the following member for the NZIFST Emerging Leader Award:

Nominee's Name:

TWO NOMINATORS:
A nominator may be an NZIFST member, or employer, supervisor, or a senior colleague of the nominee.

NAME

POSITION

SIGNATURE

DATE

#### We have attached:

- A written supporting statement/citation detailing how this member meets the purpose of the award.
- ☐ A CV or biography for the nominee.

This completed nomination form and all documentation should be emailed in PDF format to:

NZIFST Executive Manager <a href="wendy@nzifst.org.nz">wendy@nzifst.org.nz</a>
Enquiries: Phone 022 549 8483

CLOSING DATE: 30<sup>th</sup> April in the year of the award.